Google to Update Your Places Page…Without You Knowing About It!

Google is set to launch a feature on YOUR Google Places page where they will pull information into your page…whether you want them to or not. Then, if there is a change made you didn’t want, YOU will be responsible to go in and make the change BACK. As if you didn’t already have enough shit to do! From Google:

That’s why today, we’re introducing a new process that helps streamline the way updates are made to potentially outdated or incorrect business listings. Previously, verified business listings would always reflect the information provided by its owner – even if we received data about an updated name, address, or hours of operation. But now, if a user provides new information about a business they know — or if our system identifies information from another source on the web that may be more recent than the data the business owner provided via Google Places — the organic listing will automatically be updated and the business owner will be sent an email notification about the change. Without requiring any effort on the part of the business owner, we’ll take measures to keep their listing up-to-date if our system determines that the edit is accurate. Of course, if the business owner disagrees or has even more recent information, they can always directly log in to their Google Places account and make further edits.

Let’s hope this doesn’t hang around long!